Fireboy DML: Biography And Net Worth

Fireboy DML has his birth name as Adedamola Adefolahan. He is a popular Nigerian singer and songwriter known for romantic songs.
Fireboy was born in 1996 in Abeokuta, Ogun state. He grew up there and was a member of his local Church where he had the skills and bulk of experience in music.

Educational Background
Fireboy DML is a graduate of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife.

His Music Career
Fireboy began his music journey professionally in 2012 and has since made name for himself in the music industry with several hit tracks.
He released his first breakthrough single in 2018 titled ‘Jealous’ and featured on YBNL Nation’s collaborative album Mafia Family before being released on March 25, 2019.
The song which was composed of guitar riffs, traditional drums and percussion has a mix of African relics with elements of country and soul music. The song ‘Jealous’ centred around love was produced by Cracker Mallo.
The visuals for “Jealous” was directed by Director K.

The song was followed by other hit singles like Laughter, Tears and Goosebumps in 2019.
He won Listener’s Choice and was nominated for Song of the Year for “Jealous” at the 2020 Sound City MVP Awards Festival.

Fireboy DML is signed to YBNL Nation, an independent record label founded by Nigerian rapper, Olamide.

READ ALSO  Enuka Okuma: Biography And Net Worth

On 14 June 2019, Fireboy DML released the romantic single “What If I Say”, produced by Pheelz, who incorporated a mix of percussion, ambient synth harmonies, and a drum riff into the production. The visuals for “What If I Say” was directed by TG Omori.

On 1 August 2019, Fireboy DML released the Echo the Guru-produced single “King”; in it, he declares his worth to his love interest. The accompanying music video for “King” was also directed by TG Omori.
The song ‘King’ has images of Fireboy and his love interest in a rose petal embellished Rolls Royce. It also contains images of the talented star singing at a fashion show where models walk on a runway.

Other albums released by Fireboy DML include ‘Laughter’, Tears and Goosebumps on 29 November 2019, initially scheduled for release on 25 November. The album’s music is a brand of R&B that features love and social issues with empirical songwriting.
The album, made up of 13 tracks was very successful with mass airplay and thousands of copies sold within two weeks of its release. It received generally positive reviews from music critics, but was criticized for being labeled an “Afro-Life” record instead of an R&B album.
LTG was supported by the previously released singles “Jealous”, “What If I Say” and “King”.

READ ALSO  Actor Femi Brainard: Biography And Net Worth

On August 17, 2020, Fireboy released the tracklist to his sophomore album, ‘Apollo.
Fireboy’s singles include:
• “Jealous” (2019)
• “What If I Say” (2019)
• “Dreamer” (2019)
• “New York City Girl” (2020)
• “Eli” (2020)
• “Shade” (2020)
• “Go Away” (2020)
In 2020, Fireboy DML’s songs were included in the FIFA 21 game soundtrack.

His Role Model
The talented Nigerian music superstar cited the likes of Jon Bellion, Wande Coal and Passenger as his role models.

Fireboy DML describes his sound as “Afro-Life”, but others like Alphonse Pierre of Pitchfork view it as “Slow-Groove Pop” which “tells stories about love with the formulaic structure of a Hallmark Christmas romance”.

Awards and Nominations
Fireboy DML has received a number of awards and nominations, some and most recent of which are:
• Winner of the Most Promising Act of the Year at City Music People Awards
• Winner of the Listeners Choice Award at the Sound City Awards Festival.
• Nominated for Popular Song of the year, Song of the year and Next Rated Viewers Choice at the Headies.

His Net Worth
Fireboy DML has remained a household name in the Nigerian music scene, rated one of the richest and most influential with an estimated net worth of about $550,000 dollars.

READ ALSO  Ehiz: Biography And Net Worth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *